Making First Steps: Protect Yourself

So you found out that your spouse married you for a green card. It could be different ways: you caught her cheating, you heard she told somebody about it, etc. Doesn’t matter.

Now you have to be extremely careful, because as your spouse will realize that you want a divorce, he/she will start fighting back in order to save their immigration case.

In my case I did no mistakes – after I caught her cheating, I packed my stuff and left our marital residence the very next day without letting her know. I will explain to you why it’s so important. The answer is FAMILY VIOLENCE. Your spouse can call 911 and tell them you’re beating her. Police report and… she will get her new green card with no problems. Not everybody is such a jerk, but some people do that. And that’s said!

So first of all – protect yourself from false physical abuse accusations. Your wife will definitely file for an abuse, but without a proof of physical abuse, this case is worth nothing.

Your next step: download “Call Recorder” application ($10 fee) for your phone and record all conversations with her. Yes, it’s illegal to use these recordings in court as an evidence, but you can use them as a self-protection, if you spouse, for example, will report you to police, saying that you were threatening her over the phone.

Be careful with all the text messages that you send to your spouse. Everything can be used against you as an evidence that you were an abuser.

2 comments

  1. What’s Taking place i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve found It absolutely useful and it has helped me out loads. I hope to give a contribution & aid other users like its helped me. Good job.|

    Like

  2. Hi i married a man from jamaica that i love very much. I married him in jamaica. I was convinced that he love me to. Well he recived his 10 year green card and said he dont need me and i am so hurt. I was told since he have a ten year green card i can not do nothing is this true?

    Like

Leave a comment